Toggle menu

European Parliamentary Election 2019

European Parliamentary Election on Thursday 23 May 2019

North East Electoral Area

The results for the election for the North East electoral area were declared on Sunday 26 May 2019, when all polls across Europe had closed.

Three Members of the European Parliament for the North East Region were elected.

Patrick Melia, the Chief Executive at Sunderland City Council is the Regional Returning Officer for the North East Region which comprises the following local authorities:

  • Darlington Borough Council
  • Durham County Council
  • Gateshead Metropolitan Council
  • Hartlepool Borough Council
  • Middlesbrough Borough Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • Northumberland County Council
  • North Tyneside Council
  • Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
  • South Tyneside Council
  • Stockton on Tees Borough Council
  • Sunderland City Council

Each local authority area (also known as counting area) appointed a Local Returning Officer, responsible for organising the poll in their own authority area.

Patrick Melia was responsible for the nomination of candidates, the collation of results from each local authority and the allocation of seats.

The North East regional result and the results for each of the Local Counting Areas can be found below.


Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email