Toggle menu

About Area Committees

Find out more about Sunderland's Area Committees and their supporting Neighbourhood and Community Board, when they meet, the issues they are looking at and how you can get involved.

There are five Area Committees in Sunderland comprised of all Elected Members from the area's wards. They work closely with council officers, service delivery partners and members from the area Voluntary and Community Sector Network (VCSN) to ensure strong and consistent links are made between local and city-wide priorities. The role of the Area Committee is to:

  • Identify the main priorities that reflect the biggest need in the area
  • Monitor the quality and effectiveness of services delivered by the council and other main providers in the area
  • Develop efficient and effective solutions to local area priorities as well as supporting city-wide issues
  • Encourage local residents to become involved in decision making on matters which affect them

Each Area Committee is supported by a Neighbourhood and Community Board. The Board supports the delivery of the Area Committee's Neighbourhood Plan and key priorities for local action.

Coalfield Area Committee - comprising Copt Hill, Hetton, Houghton and Shiney Row wards.

East Sunderland Area Committee - comprising Hendon, St Michaels, Ryhope, Millfield and Doxford wards.

North Sunderland Area Committee - comprising Castle, Fulwell, Redhill, St Peters and Southwick wards.

Washington Area Committee - comprising Washington Central, Washington East, Washington North, Washington South and Washington West wards.

West Sunderland Area Committee - comprising Barnes, Pallion, St Anne's, St Chad's, Sandhill and Silksworth wards.

You can read further information on the work of the Area Committees in the pages.

Area Committee Annual Report 2023-24

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email